History.

The Coboc Story.

scroll down

From a backyard workshop to pioneer of electric mobility – a story of writing history.

THE FIRST OF ITS KIND.

 

“Ride an electric bike that works really well and looks damn good doing it.”
This was the ambitious wish of two physicists and the basic idea behind Coboc. Inspired by their own experiences as bicycle couriers, they created a purist and fully integrated e-bike that weighs just 13.7 kilograms. A bang for the buck.

 

In 2013, Coboc presents the eCycle as a market-ready prototype and immediately wins the prestigious Eurobike Gold Award.

The first series of the eCycle was launched in 2014.

THERE WILL BE LIGHT.

 

In 2015, the portfolio is expanded by two models: the Soho with a silver-polished frame and the Rome with hydraulic disc brakes continue the consistently reduced design language. For the first time, Coboc e-bikes are distributed to Belgium, Austria and Switzerland.

 

In 2016, the Vesterbro establishes the next level of development and a new product line with mudguards, bag holder and light system. Highlight here: the patented Coboc rear light, elegantly integrated into the seat tube. With the Villette, a women’s variant is added.

WE HAVE JÜRGEN VOGEL.

 

In 2016, the structures are further expanded. A distribution network is established in Switzerland, the family of employees grows to 15 people, and the Coboc app is developed. This allows the riding characteristics to be individually adjusted and other useful information to be called up.

In 2017, another technical innovation is introduced. On the Brooklyn, the low-maintenance and quiet belt drive converts muscle power into propulsion. The limited special edition Berlin is dedicated to the actor and brand ambassador Jürgen Vogel.

UPSHIFT.

 

In 2017, Coboc is also growing spatially. At the beginning of the year, the company moved into the building of the former headquarters of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen near the main train station. The Coboc family now numbers 25 employees.

 

With the Kanda and Montreal models, Coboc expands its portfolio and range of applications. The derailleur gears with seven speeds make the two ideal commuter bikes, whether in Hamburg, Stuttgart or Innsbruck.

BOUNDARIES REDEFINED.

 

2018 sees entry into the Benelux market. The Cobox service tool and standardized quality controls further underpin the premium status. The first study of a Coboc gravel e-bike is presented exclusively at the Eurobike trade fair.

 

With racing handlebars, new geometry and wide tires, the Torino breaks with conventions in May 2019: now it goes beyond the asphalt.

 

UNDER ELEVEN KILOGRAMS.

 

As 2018 draws to a close, Coboc is once again causing a stir in the e-bike world with the eCycle F1. The new edition of the original model weighs just 10.7 kilograms – with the usual range of 70 to 100 kilometers for Coboc. Consistent lightweight construction with carbon components makes it possible. The icon is back!

 

In 2019, the new website goes online. Now Coboc e-bikes can also be ordered online. The specialist trade is still a strong partner, also in terms of service. With its own leasing concept, the first companies will be supplied with fleet e-bikes in the late year.

RELAXED GET ON.

 

In 2020, Coboc opens a new chapter with the Kallio RGD and the Kallio CMF, without diluting the Coboc DNA. Just as the original eCycle breathed dynamism and lightness into a previously staid bike genre, the slim silhouette and 17.5 kilograms continue this philosophy and set new standards in the process.

The portfolio has been further expanded with two all-rounders. As a commuter and trekking bike, the Merano is the perfect companion on the daily commute to work, the weekend tour or on a cycling vacation. The Iseo is the first trekking e-bike from Coboc and impresses with its suspension fork and two stylish color options.

URBAN UTILITY.

 

2021 Coboc presents the model Brixton in the classic diamond and for the first time in a trapezoid frame. With its two racktops and wide tires, urban utility is redefined.

 

Award-winning e-bikes from Heidelberg.

Continue here.

Make history with us or discover our e-bikes.

History.

Die Coboc Story.

unten geht's weiter

Von der Hinterhofwerkstatt zum Wegbereiter der elektrischen Mobilität – eine Geschichte vom Geschichte schreiben.

DAS ERSTE SEINER ART.


„Ein Elektrorad fahren, das richtig gut funktioniert und dabei noch verdammt gut aussieht.“

So der ambitionierte Wunsch zweier Physiker und die Grundidee hinter Coboc. Inspiriert von den eigenen Erfahrungen als Fahrradkurier entsteht ein puristisches und vollintegriertes E-Bike, das nur 13,7 Kilogramm auf die Waage bringt. Ein Paukenschlag.

 

2013 präsentiert Coboc das eCycle als marktreifen Prototypen und räumt damit gleich den renommierten Eurobike Gold Award ab.

 

2014 kommt das eCycle in der ersten Serie auf den Markt.

ES WERDE LICHT.


2015
wird das Portfolio um zwei Modelle erweitert: Das Soho mit silber-poliertem Rahmen und das Rome mit hydraulischen Scheibenbremsen setzen die konsequent reduzierte Designsprache fort. Erstmals werden Coboc E-Bikes nach Belgien, Österreich und in die Schweiz vertrieben.

 

2016 begründet das Vesterbro mit Schutzblechen, Taschenhalter und Lichtanlage das nächste Entwicklungslevel und eine neue Produktlinie. Highlight dabei: das patentierte Coboc Rücklicht, elegant im Sitzrohr integriert. Mit der Villette kommt eine Damenvariante hinzu. 

WIR HABEN EINEN VOGEL.

 

2016 werden die Strukturen weiter ausgebaut. Ein Vertriebsnetz in der Schweiz entsteht, die Mitarbeiter-Familie wächst auf 15 Personen und die Coboc App wird entwickelt. Mit dieser lassen sich die Fahreigenschaften individuell anpassen und weitere nützliche Informationen abrufen.

 

2017 stellt man eine weitere technische Neuerung vor. Am Brooklyn setzt der wartungsarme und leise Riemenantrieb die Muskelkraft in Vortrieb um. Dem Schauspieler und Markenbotschafter Jürgen Vogel wird die limitierte Sonderedition Berlin gewidmet.

HOCHSCHALTEN.

 

2017 wächst Coboc auch räumlich. Anfang des Jahres zieht man in das Gebäude der ehemaligen Hauptverwaltung der Heidelberger Druckmaschinen nahe des Hauptbahnhofs um. Die Coboc-Familie zählt mittlerweile 25 Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen.

 

Mit den Modellen Kanda und Montreal erweitert Coboc das Portfolio und das Einsatzgebiet. Die Kettenschaltung mit sieben Gängen macht die beiden zu idealen Pendler-Bikes, egal ob in Hamburg, Stuttgart oder Innsbruck.

GRENZEN NEU DEFINIERT.

 

2018 erfolgt der Eintritt in den Benelux-Markt. Das Service-Tool Cobox und standardisierte Qualitätskontrollen untermauern den Premium-Status weiter. Zur Eurobike Messe wird exklusiv die erste Studie eines Coboc Gravel-E-Bikes präsentiert. 

 

Mit Rennlenker, neuer Geometrie und breiter Bereifung bricht das Torino ab Mai 2019 mit den Konventionen: nun geht es über den Asphalt hinaus.

 

UNTER ELF KILOGRAMM.

 

2018 neigt sich dem Ende und Coboc sorgt mit dem eCycle F1 wieder einmal für Staunen in der E-Bike-Welt. Lediglich 10,7 Kilogramm wiegt die Neuauflage des Ur-Modells – bei den für Coboc üblichen 70 bis 100 Kilometern Reichweite. Konsequenter Leichtbau mit Carbon-Anbauteilen macht es möglich. Die Ikone ist zurück!

 

2019 geht die neue Webseite online. Nun lassen sich Coboc E-Bikes auch im Netz bestellen. Der Fachhandel ist nach wie vor starker Partner, auch im Service. Mit einem eigenen Leasing-Konzept werden im Spätjahr die ersten Firmen mit Flotten-E-Bikes beliefert.

ENTSPANNT AUFSTEIGEN.

 

2020 schlägt Coboc mit dem Kallio RGD und den Kallio CMF ein neues Kapitel auf, ohne dabei die Coboc DNA zu verwässern. Wie schon das ursprüngliche eCycle einer bis dato biederen Radgattung Dynamik und Leichtigkeit einhauchte, so konsequent setzten die schlanke Silhouette und 17,5 Kilogramm diese Philosophie fort und dabei neue Maßstäbe.

 

Weiteren Zuwachs bekommt das Portfolio mit zwei Allroundern. Das Merano ist als Commuter- und Trekkingbike der perfekte Begleiter auf dem täglichen Weg zur Arbeit, der Wochenendtour oder im Radurlaub. Das Iseo ist das erste Trekking E-Bike von Coboc und besticht mit seiner Federgabel und zwei stylischen Farbvarianten.

URBAN UTILITY.

 

2021 präsentiert Coboc das Modell Brixton im klassischen Diamant- und zum ersten mal auch in einem Trapezrahmen. Mit seinen beiden Racktops und den breiten Reifen wird Urban Utility neu definiert.

 

Preisgekrönte E-Bikes aus Heidelberg.

 

Hier geht’s weiter.

Schreibe mit uns Geschichte oder entdecke unsere E-Bikes.